Home » Events » Meme » Weigh in Wednesday [3]: Poetry vs. Prose

Weigh in Wednesday [3]: Poetry vs. Prose

Thanks to Lauren of Epilogue Review for inviting me to join this weekly meme of her blog!

Weigh in Wednesday is a meme which is strictly a Something vs. Something type of thing. The purpose is for it to be short, interactive, and something fun to do halfway through the week!

The topic this week is:

Poetry vs. Prose

This time I gotta say BOTH! While I enjoy reading prose in novels, novellas, and short stories in various genres: from classics, historical fiction, children’s books, to some thriller, fantasy, young adult, adult fiction, and romance; I have always loved poetry. The last World Poetry Day I wrote a blog post describing my love for poetry (it was written in Indonesian, but there are some poems by Percy Bysshe Shelley, Robert Frost, and Walt Whitman in it). And mind you who are skeptic about poetry: poetry is not all about love and melancholy. It could be witty, contemplative, and horrifying. One of my favorite poem by Sir Walter Ralegh (?1552-1618) talked about faith, and death. It says:

Even such is Time, which takes in trust

Our youth, our joys, and all we have,

And pays us but with age and dust;

Who in the dark and silent grave,

When we have wandered all our ways,

Shuts up the story of our days:

And from which earth, and grave, and dust,

The Lord shall raise me up, I trust.

For me, poetry is as amazing as prose (especially in the right hands of brilliant poets and authors). What do you think?

One thought on “Weigh in Wednesday [3]: Poetry vs. Prose

  1. I don’t know, I just can’t read poem. It’s just like a snack for me, so reading it just make me crave more for a big meal.. LOL!

What do you think?

