Home » Ini dan Itu » Answering 21 Questions “About Me” :)

Answering 21 Questions “About Me” :)

These are my answers for the 21 Questions Jillian of A Room of One’s Own asked in her “About You” page.

A pic of me in front of a movie theatre 🙂

  1. Sum yourself up in twenty-five words or less.

A girl in her mid-20s still searching for her place in the world. A follower of Jesus Christ who loves reading classics and historical fiction.

  1. Do you read? If so, why, what, and how often?

Duh! Yeah! Because I crave for something new every now and then. Because if I didn’t feed my mind, it will die from hunger of knowledge. And of course I read for entertainment too. I mostly read classics and historical fiction, and some contemporary lit and children’s books in between. I try to read every day, every time I have the time (and mood, LOL). So far, I didn’t suck much at the Goodreads Reading Challenge I set for myself (52 books for the year 2012, which means I read approximately 1 book every week).

  1. Do you blog? If so, your blog’s name & focus (classic books? YA? art? college? writing? movies? miscellaneous? etc?) – if you don’t have a blog, what would most likely be your focus if you did have one)?

Yes I blog about books and things that are book-related in https://surgabukuku.wordpress.com (“Surgabukuku” in Indonesian language means “my heaven of books”).

  1. Your favorite adult book(s) &/or children’s book(s)?

My favorite books are Les Miserables by Victor Hugo (for adults) and The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett (for children).

  1. Your favorite movie(s)?

The Lord of the Rings trilogy (though I didn’t read the books), The Sound of Music, The Phantom of the Opera, Joe Wright’s Pride and Prejudice. Lately I’ve been craving for more and more period dramas… 😀

  1. Your favorite quote(s) from literature?

Read them here: https://surgabukuku.wordpress.com/2012/05/08/ttt-top-ten-favorite-quotes-from-books/

  1. Most challenging book you’ve read in your life?

I’m gonna be totally honest in this question. It is The Bible. I have all the time and means to read it (I have time to read all my other books, I have various versions of The Bible in my possession: King James Version, New International Version, Indonesian translation version, and audio books); but still I haven’t been able to read it from the beginning to the end for once in my life. I gotta do something about it! 😦

  1. Book(s) you’re currently reading, if any?

I’m going to finish Little Lord Fauntleroy by Frances Hodgson Burnett very soon. This weekend I plan to read Rudyard Kipling’s Just So Stories and The Reader by Bernhard Schlink.

  1. Book(s) you’re most looking forward to reading?

Tales from Shakespeare by Charles Lamb. Reading Shakespeare (works written by the master himself) is tough for me, so I prefer to read the retelling of his works. The book is being shipped from the other side of the world to my country. I can’t wait to grab it in my hands and read it!

  1. Author whose works you’re curious to explore soon?

I’m craving for more Jane Austen, Oscar Wilde, and Leo Tolstoy. As for the authors who are new for me, I’d like to try to read the works of Thomas Hardy, Elizabeth Gaskell, E.B. White, and Emile Zola.

  1. Book you’re most scared to read but might read eventually, anyway?

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy.

  1. Book you have re-read the most times in your life (or if you hate re-reading, just write that!)

One or two of the Harry Potter series (mostly the seventh book, which never ceased to make me cry!)

  1. If you could spend a day in any era, where would you go (including “I would not go anywhere! I LOVE the 21st century!”)?

Take me to the 19th century please! Preferably in Europe! Victorian England, you say? Castles, brick houses, moor lands? Hell yes!

  1. If you could be any character in literature, who would you be (and why)?

Elinor Dashwood from Sense and Sensibility. I know, I haven’t read the book, but I have watched the BBC series and I saw how the character restrain herself from being emotional and managed to be cold-headed throughout the story, how she played her part as an affectionate sister toward Marianne (I’m more Marianne than Elinor, to be honest), and how she endured pain until the day everything fall into place (she deserved a happy ending for sure!). She seemed like she didn’t need much to be happy. Maybe her life was so plain, but there is something irresistible with her simplicity.

  1. Do you love Jane Austen or want to “dig her up and beat her over the skull with her own shin-bone”? (Phrase borrowed from Mark Twain).
    1. Why? (for either answer)?

I can’t decide just yet. I have read only 2 novels of her; Pride and Prejudice which I hated (but loved the film), and Northanger Abbey which I liked (I settled for “like”, not “love”). However, I own a copy of Sense and Sensibility and long to read it soon. I don’t know much about her other works; maybe I will read them in the future, maybe not.

    1. Favorite and/or least favorite Austen novel?

Can’t give my answer yet. Maybe later when I finished reading Sense and Sensibility, then I will have 3 options of Austen novels to love or hate. 😀

  1. Your favorite season?

My country, Indonesia, has only 2 seasons; rainy season and dry season. I prefer rainy season, as long as it doesn’t rain too hard then causing flood.

  1. Do you prefer dawn or twilight?

Dawn, even though I’m hardly a morning person. 😀

  1. Your favorite memory from childhood?

My dad used to carry me to bed when I fell asleep in the living room or in front of the TV. It was a really simple thing that became special as I grew up, and those precious “me and dad” time became really really rare. When my dad died last year, this was my most remembered memory of him. Wanna know how my dad looked like? It was him on the portrait at the end of this post.

  1. Some of your interests beyond books?

I love The X-Files series. Its mysteries and its opening theme gave me creeps, and the wonderful chemistry between David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson (as Mulder and Scully) kept me guessing. Sometimes they made real funny episodes too! (my favorite is Bad Blood from Season V)

Other than that I love to listen to music and sing (only in front of very limited audience). 😀

  1. Added after I posted, thanks to Payton’s suggestion: “Who is hands-down the best literary hero, in your opinion? Likewise, who is the best heroine?”

 Best literary hero: Atticus Finch from To Kill a Mockingbird. Best literary heroine: Jane Eyre from Jane Eyre. Both have strengths that I wish to possess.

  1. What question do you wish I had asked? (Ask and answer it!)

“If you are to write a book, what will you write about?”

I would write historical fiction for teens, with a lot of moral values. It’s just that I found that most of today’s literature for teens is crap. They rarely teach those young people anything valuable for their mind, and for leading life as a good person. I want to write something that will teach them things (both knowledge and moral values) and also enjoyable and entertaining at the same time. The next question will be: Will I ever write it? –> My answer: Who knows???

5 thoughts on “Answering 21 Questions “About Me” :)

  1. Pingback: Close Up Interview Anggota Blogger Buku Indonesia: Melisa Mariani | Random Thoughts of Melmarian

  2. hallo, salam kenal. saya terdampar di blog ini setelah mencari review buku. btw, apa sekarang sudah menyelesaikan baca alkitab? 3 pasal tiap hari bisa selesai dalam setahun 🙂

  3. Pingback: Close Up Interview Anggota Blogger Buku Indonesia: Melisa Mariani | Random Thoughts of Melmarian

  4. Pingback: Tip Membaca Buku Berbahasa Inggris untuk Pemula | bukunya

What do you think?

