Let’s Spin the Classics!

The creative moderators at The Classics Club came up with this interesting idea called “The Classics Spin”. The idea is to make a list of 20 unread books from our own lists for The Classics Club. Then by Monday Feb 18, The Classics Club will post a number from 1 to 20 and every participant should read a book that corresponds to the said number by April 1. Fun and challenging, isn’t it? Below is my list for The Classics Spin, a mix of books that I’m scared of, looking forward to, and feel neutral about. The rest is just the books that I’m planning to read within this year!

  1. The Divine Comedy #1: Inferno – Dante Alighieri. This is honestly a new addition to my Classics Club list. It’s one classic that intimidates me—but I enjoy reading poetry, even though I’m not a frequent reader (of poetry). So yes, I will give this one a try.
  2. Metamorphosis – Franz Kafka. I have read a translated version (into Bahasa Indonesia) earlier on – 2012, but haven’t written the review. This time I’m going to reread it in English, hopefully that way I can get better comprehension of the story.
  3. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen. I know, this book is my Classics Club list’s “most looking forward to” but I haven’t read it until now. However I got a hint that I’m going to like this book.
  4. Richard III – William Shakespeare. I will read this for Let’s Read Plays event. It will be my first time to read a historical play by Shakespeare, somehow I’m intimidated…
  5. Oedipus Rex – Sophocles. Again a play for Let’s Read Plays event.
  6. The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde
  7. Uncle Tom’s Cabin – Harriet Beecher Stowe. Failed reading this two years ago. Now I want to try again, from the beginning!
  8. Swiss Family Robinson – Johann David Wyss. Fanda gave me this book for my birthday last year, and until now I haven’t read it! *hides face with hands*
  9. The Yearling – Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings
  10. The Painted Veil – W. Somerset Maugham
  11. The Pilgrim’s Progress – John Bunyan
  12. The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas. A re-read.
  13. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain
  14. The Kreutzer Sonata – Leo Tolstoy. Will read this to prepare myself to read his masterpiece, War and Peace (hopefully next year!)
  15. The Death of Ivan Ilych – Leo Tolstoy. Same reason with book no #14.
  16. Animal Farm – George Orwell
  17. Around the World in Eighty Days – Jules Verne
  18. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest – Ken Kesey
  19. Ben-Hur: A Tale of Christ – Lew Wallace
  20. The Diary of A Young Girl – Anne Frank

UPDATE: The Classics Spin number is 14! Therefore, I am going to read The Kreutzer Sonata for this event. I’m excited to meet Mr. Tolstoy again!

