Home » Events » Meme » 15 Day Book Blogging Challenge Day 4: Book That Made Me Angry

15 Day Book Blogging Challenge Day 4: Book That Made Me Angry

15-Day-Challenge

Have you ever felt extreme hatred for a fictional character? This guy Pozdnyshev in Tolstoy’s The Kreutzer Sonata gave me almost the same feeling, if not worse, with what I felt with Heathcliff in Wuthering Heights. Pozdnyshev was a sexist man and he had an appalling analysis on love and marriage. Terrible jealousy drove him into killing his own wife. Seriously, I feel like I want to underline every word that he said with “WTF”.

The Kreutzer Sonata came up as a dreadful shock for me, since usually I love Tolstoy’s short stories and novellas. I still can’t get myself to write its review until today. However, I think there might be some real men in this world who shares the views of Pozdnyshev (I pray to God that I wouldn’t have to meet them, ever). It’s only fair to say that actually I don’t hate the book; I just hate the main character. The book itself put forth the ugly truth of some people’s views on man-woman relationship. And despite hating the main character so much, I can’t deny that The Kreutzer Sonata is one of the most honest literary works I have ever read.

P.S. I can’t literally fling the book across the room, since I read it in e-book format.

***

If you want to join 15 Day Book Blogging Challenge, simply visit Good Books and Good Wine blog HERE.

One thought on “15 Day Book Blogging Challenge Day 4: Book That Made Me Angry

  1. LOL, even if it’s a paperback, I bet you won’t fling it across the room! 😉
    Mine is a book with a terribly annoying character too! I don’t know how people can stand reading books like that. I know, they’d say…read the story, and ignore the character bla bla bla…but still…how can you do that with classics, which is mostly character driven?
    One thing for sure, I don’t think I would like to read Kreutzer Sonata 😀

What do you think?

