Home » Ini dan Itu » Artikel Buku » A to Z Bookish Survey

A to Z Bookish Survey

This survey is created by Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner.

AtoZsurvey-1017x1024


Author you’ve read the most books from…

According to Goodreads, they are R.L. Stine and Hergé.

Best sequel ever…

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I have been hosting an Indonesian-wide Harry Potter reading event and from there I found out that the second Harry Potter book turned out to be the LEAST favorite book from the whole series for many participants. I mean, how come? I love Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets for its mystery and plot twist, and for me it’s a brilliant sequel to match the phenomenal first book.

Currently reading…

Lust for Life by Irving Stone, a biographical novel about the famous Dutch painter Vincent Van Gogh.

Drink of choice while reading…

While I love drinking coffee, I think the best drink to accompany reading is water. Just in case you spill your drink on the book. (Ooops!)

E-reader or physical book…

For me, e-reader will never replace the special feeling physical books give you when reading. See THIS! And long live the printed word!

Fictional character you probably would have actually dated in high school…

Gilbert Blythe from Anne of Green Gables series. He is smart and funny and loving, and he has proven himself to be a good friend for Anne (and a good lover, later on). I know right. Totally boyfriend material. 😀 I need to read that book. I have only read the manga version of it, such a shame!

... that boy who teased you at school. At first you hated him with all your strength, but eventually you two fall in love with each other... :)

… that boy who teased you at school. At first you hated him with all your strength, but eventually you two fell in love with each other… 🙂

Glad you gave this book a chance…

The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas. Reading it the second time in English made me realize how funny it is in many parts. (I read it for the first time in Indonesian translation.)

Hidden gem book…

City of Thieves by David Benioff. I hope they will make an adaptation of this book anytime soon, considering the author is also a screenwriter.

Important moment in your reading life…

The moment I started a book blog and the moment I joined Indonesian Book Bloggers community (BBI). From there I realized the need to jot down thoughts about books so that later on I will still remember what themes and values they brought and what did they make me feel, and at the same time my thoughts could be useful to others. The joy of sharing what you love. ♥

Just finished…

Sadly, I’m having a reading slump right now. The last book I read was the really short children’s book The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein. Before that I finished reading Matilda by Roald Dahl.

Kinds of books you won’t read…

Collection of tweets from some so-called celebrity tweeters, paranormal romance novels, erotica with BSDM, LGBT themed books. (No I’m not homophobic. I just don’t enjoy reading about it.)

Longest book you’ve read…

The Indonesian translation version of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (1,200 pages), followed by Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (1,008 pages).

Major book hangover because of …

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

Number of bookcases you own…

How about the number of books I own rather than bookcases? I have over 300 titles of books. I know they’re not that many, but I rarely have space to keep books, so from time to time I released some of them to be swapped or sold. Wanna see some pictures of my books? Here you go~

One book you have read multiple times…

The last Harry Potter book.

Preferred place to read…

My bed! Hahaha. I have a bad habit of reading at night until I fall asleep.

Zzzzzzzzzzzzz......

Sssshhh…… I’m readi–sleeping……

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read…

“Every person has an integrity, a quality of character, Vincent, and if he observes it, whatever he does will turn out well in the end.”

The above quote is taken from my current read, Lust for Life by Irving Stone. I have only read half of it now, but so far I learned a lot from Vincent Van Gogh’s passion for his work, which is art. He taught me to be passionate about my work and to give my best for it, regardless what others may think or judge about it.

Reading regret…

I regret not having started to read classics in the earlier stage of my life. But then, what’s the use of regret? It’s never too late to start reading classics, and even if I’m going slowly I’m still moving anyway.

Series you started and need to finish (all books are out)…

The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall. So far I have only read the first book, while the second and third book are already lying unread on my shelf.

Three of your all-time favorite books…

Les Miserables, Jane Eyre and The Secret Garden.

Unapologetic fangirl for…

The honor still goes to Madam J.K. Rowling for her remarkable writing, her broad imagination, and for creating a magical world that will always be stuck in my head. I still have The Casual Vacancy and The Cuckoo’s Calling to read, and I am so excited about the upcoming adaptation of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.

She's the best!

She’s the best!

Very excited for this release more than all the other books…

Can I answer with The Cuckoo’s Calling? Alright it has been released already, but I haven’t read it yet. 😀

Worst bookish habit…

Not being able to finish one book because of being distracted. By other books.

This is so me

This is so me

X Marks the spot: the 27th book of my shelf…

I will take the 27th book on my “owned” shelf on Goodreads: The Help by Kathryn Stockett.

Your Latest Book Purchase…

A Short History of the World by H.G. Wells and Heaven’s My Destination by Thornton Wilder. I bought them online on Betterworldbooks.com on September 12th and they arrived just yesterday!

ZZZ-snatcher book (latest book that kept you up way late)…

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. 🙂


What do you think?

