Home » Posts in English » Let’s Read Plays: Wrap-Up Post

Let’s Read Plays: Wrap-Up Post

LRPbutton

Dear me, 2013 have been a pretty bad year for me in the case of reading challenges and reading events.  Like for the Let’s Read Plays event, I have only been able to read and review 5 plays out of the supposedly 12. Well, at least through this event I finally became acquainted with Shakespeare, along with some other playwrights. Reading plays is fun and I intend to squeeze more of them in my future reading lists.

So here are the plays I managed to read and review.

November ’12 – Shakespeare Tragedy: Julius Caesar

December ’12 – Shakespeare Comedy: Twelfth Night, or What You Will

January ’13 – Freebie: Our Town, by Thornton Wilder

March ’13 – Greek: Oedipus Rex, by Sophocles

June ’13 – Oscar Wilde: The Importance of Being Earnest

And here are the monthly memes I participated in:

January ’13 – Stage/Film Adaptation: Twelfth Night, or What You Will

May ’13 – Music: The Importance of Being Earnest

From all the plays I’ve read, it was Our Town that moved me the most. It made me think again about how I use time as long as I lived. Did I let it pass away so quickly without realizing a meaning of every moment that’s happened? And then there was also The Importance of Being Earnest, that made me fall in love with Oscar Wilde’s wit.  I also loved the adaptation of The Importance of Being Earnest so much.

Thanks to Fanda and Dessy for hosting this event, also to Listra who hosted the monthly memes!

2 thoughts on “Let’s Read Plays: Wrap-Up Post

  1. Congratulations for having read Shakespeare at last. Just curious…which one do you like most: tragedy or comedy?
    I’m still curious about Wilder, I might slip a play or two within my (already) tight schedule next year. No Shakespeare this time, I’d like to explore other authors, such as Wilder, Ibsen, Williams, etc.
    Thanks for participating LRP, Mel! 😉

What do you think?

