Home » Ini dan Itu » Artikel Buku » Book Kaleidoscope 2013: Top 5 Book Boyfriends

Book Kaleidoscope 2013: Top 5 Book Boyfriends

Wrapping up the year won’t be complete without a little rewinding of the books I have read in 2013. Continuing last year’s Book Kaleidoscope hosted by Fanda Classiclit, this year’s Book Kaleidoscope comes with 5 different categories, and still starts with the category that makes bookish fangirls cheer.

book-kaleidoscope-2013-button

So here they are, my Top 5 Book Boyfriends of 2013:

#5. Ron Weasley from Harry Potter series

In many many aspects, I like Ron a lot more than Harry. His cheerful and easy-going personality serves as a neutralizer in the trio. His comical nature calms things down when Harry gets stressful about Voldemort and when Hermione is busy worrying about her grades. He is the character who made me laugh the most during the series. Poor Ron, anyone can see why he was so insecure and lacking self confidence. It was a pleasure watching him grow into a stronger, braver, smarter, and more confident Ron.  (As an adult, he became an Auror and married his best friend, Hermione. No more feeling overshadowed by anyone anymore, eh?)

“I’ve got two Neptunes here,” said Harry after a while, frowning down on his parchment, “that can’t be right, can it?”
“Aaaah,” said Ron, imitating Professor Trelawney’s mysical whisper, “when two Neptunes appear in the sky, it is a sure sign that a midget in glasses is being born, Harry…”

Rupert Grint as Ron Weasley in Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2007). I think Rupert looked best as Ron in this movie. In the fourth movie, his hair was way too long. In the sixth and seventh movie, Rupert has grown a lot stouter than Ron should really be. 😦

#4. Theo Van Gogh from Lust for Life

How does it feel to have a mentally disturbed sibling? In spite of shutting his brother Vincent out of his life, Theo Van Gogh supported his brother, not only financially but also emotionally. There wouldn’t be a Vincent Van Gogh we all know today without Theo. He loved his brother so much that he had always been there to help Vincent. And Vincent’s death broke his heart so deeply that Theo himself passed away just six months after his brother. They lay side by side in the cemetery of Auvers-sur-Oise until this day.

theo van goghJamie Parker as Theo Van Gogh in the 2010 TV movie Van Gogh: Painted with Words.

#3. Ezra “Penny” Baxter from The Yearling

Penny Baxter is in my list of Best-Loved Fictional Fathers, along with Atticus Finch and The Book Thief’s Hans Hubermann. Having unpleasant childhood didn’t stop Penny to be loving and kindhearted towards his only son, Jody. Penny is a man of integrity; he is honest and he believes in a balance between man and animals. For example, he won’t hunt for fun and when he needs to kill an animal he would do it in a way that the animal would feel as little pain as possible.

“You kin tame a ‘coon. You kin tame a bear. You kin tame a wild-cat and you kin tame a panther.” He pondered. His mind went back to his father’s sermons. “You kin tame arything, son, excusin’ the human tongue.”

penny baxter-2Penny Baxter was played by Peter Strauss in the 1994 adaptation of The Yearling. But I want to see Penny played by Tom Hiddleston. I think his face (with some facial hair) is just perfect for a Penny Baxter. I know, there is nothing “penny” about Tom Hiddleston’s height (he’s 6’2″) , but hey, a girl can dream, can’t she?

#2. Athos from The Three Musketeers

For me, Athos is a symbol of nobleness, leadership, bravery, and intelligence. He is perfect in almost every way (did I mention that he is handsome as well?)—except for a broken love story in his past. That made him even more attractive.

“Love is a lottery you are very fortunate to have lost, believe me, my dear d’Artagnan.”

"Die drei Musketiere": Dreh am Alten RathausMatthew Macfadyen as Athos in the 2011 adaptation of The Three Musketeers. It’s so good to finally able to put Mr. MM’s picture in my blog again! 😉

#1. Pip Pirrip from Great Expectations

One more tortured soul. The character Pip is recognized by his undying love for Estella. I listed lines from the book that expressed Pip’s love for Estella here. I love Pip simply because of his ability to love, even though some people may call it madness. How can a man still love a woman if his feelings have been abused and exploited by her, over and over again?

“… I had loved Estella dearly and long, and that, although I had lost her and must live a bereaved life, whatever concerned her was still nearer and dearer to me than anything else in the world.”

great-expectations-2012-012-jeremy-irvine-medium-shotJeremy Irvine as Pip in the 2012 adaptation of Great Expectations. I think I like Jeremy’s Pip more than Douglas Booth’s Pip. Both of them are handsome, but Douglas looks more like a typical modern-era model or boy band member. I think Jeremy’s looks fits better in the Victorian era.

And that’s done, I fangirled with a wide smile. Now’s your turn. 🙂

***

Read my other posts for Book Kaleidoscope 2013:

Top 5 Most Memorable Quotes

Top 5 Best Book Covers

Top 5 Favorite Books

12 thoughts on “Book Kaleidoscope 2013: Top 5 Book Boyfriends

  1. Ahh…I know that somehow, Macfadyen…oops…I mean Athos would find his way in your top 5 😉

    I agree with Ron Weasley, Pip and Penny Baxter, but I would never have thought about Theo Van Gogh. For a second I thought Vincent was there *what, the unstable Vincent?*, but on second glance.. *oh, it’s Theo!* And yes, I agree, he is a very kind and attentive brother. I don’t think I’d do the same if I had a sibling like Vincent. It’s really an undemanding love.

    Well, this is the first (or maybe the only) BBF post in which I know all the characters, and I agree on all the five 😉

  2. Is that Athos? Is that my beloved ATHOS????!!!! Matthew MacFayden played this beautifully I must say. Although in that movie Athos is not as patriotic as he is in the novel, but Matt caught his grimness, his coldness, his disappointment, and ultimately, his voice. That voice places him as the best Athos in my imagination.

    Once more, ATHOOOOOOSSSS!! Sorry, I’m such a silly fangirl..

  3. Pingback: Book Kaleidoscope 2013: Top 5 Favorite Books | Surgabukuku

  4. Pingback: Book Kaleidoscope 2013: Top 5 Most Memorable Quotes | Surgabukuku

  5. Pingback: Book Kaleidoscope 2013: Top 5 Best Book Covers | Surgabukuku

  6. Pingback: Review: Lust for Life, by Irving Stone | Surgabukuku

What do you think?

