Home » Ini dan Itu » Artikel Buku » Book Kaleidoscope 2013: Top 5 Favorite Books

Book Kaleidoscope 2013: Top 5 Favorite Books

book-kaleidoscope-2013-button

We’ve come to the “finale” of Book Kaleidoscope 2013 hosted by Fanda Classiclit, and as usual, on the last day of the year we reveal our own top 5 Favorite Books. Here are mine:

#5. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

shadow of the wind

This is an enthralling page-turner about the mysterious origin of one novel titled “The Shadow of the Wind” by Julian Carax. This book’s “bookishness”, along with its captivating story and the exotic set of Barcelona gained its way into my Top 5 Favorite Books in 2013 list. It’s just too bad that the Indonesian translation of this book isn’t in store yet.

My review of The Shadow of the Wind (in Indonesian language)

#4. Lust for Life by Irving Stone

lust for life

This book taught me about the power of will, hard work, and unconditional love. If there’s a will, there’s a way. When you have found your life’s calling, what you must do is put your best effort to work at it, but also you need to know when to stop working. Vincent Van Gogh worked really hard for his calling; art, and it consumed him in a way that he couldn’t stop working. Painting became his breath and soon it drove him mad. The relationship of Vincent and his brother Theo was a proof of unconditional love. Irving Stone wrote this touching story so vividly.

My review of Lust for Life (in Indonesian language)

#3. Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

tuesdays with morrie

I finished reading this book just yesterday and I finally get why most people consider this book to be Albom’s masterpiece. Written in short chapters and packed with life’s values (which are the signature style of Albom’s books), this book told the story of Morrie, Albom’s old professor, and how did he strive during the last days of his life. Albom attended “class” with Morrie, who shared his wisdom in living life. The greatest lessons I got from this book are about the power of family and love. As W.H. Auden said, “Love each other or perish.” This is one of the books that everyone should read.

#2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

HP7

One of my greatest bookish moments of 2013 was hosting an Indonesian-wide Harry Potter reading event. I’ve found out that even after years, Harry Potter still amazes me like when I read the series for the first time, and I am not alone in that :). All that action, all that smart sense of humor, all the unveiling of the mysteries, and all that emotion… *sobs quietly* I think that J.K. Rowling poured out all of her magic in this last book; it was truly a perfect conclusion for the memorable series.

My review of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (in Indonesian language)

And finally, my Most Favorite Book of 2013 is:

#1. The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

the yearling

It was, in my opinion, the book that captured the beauty of nature best. This 1939 Pulitzer Prize winner told readers about how Penny Baxter’s family survived the harsh life of Florida backwoods. Through Penny and Jody, I was taught that life is tough; but it is worth to go through. As for the beautiful and vivid descriptions of nature: I was in awe, and in love. 🙂 I am truly thankful for Gramedia Pustaka Utama, Indonesian publisher which released the Indonesian translation for this book; because honestly, if I read it in the original language, I might not understand it!

***

Read my other posts for Book Kaleidoscope 2013:

Top 5 Book Boyfriends

Top 5 Most Memorable Quotes

Top 5 Best Book Covers

12 thoughts on “Book Kaleidoscope 2013: Top 5 Favorite Books

  1. I’m glad you like Lust For Life too! The Yearling definitely deserves to be number one, and Harry Potter 7 is indeed the most emotional from the series. As for Mitch Albom, I think I still like Five People.. the most. 🙂
    Thanks Mel for joining Book Kaleidoscope this year! ^__^

  2. Pingback: Book Kaleidoscope 2013: Top 5 Book Boyfriends | Surgabukuku

  3. Pingback: Book Kaleidoscope 2013: Top 5 Most Memorable Quotes | Surgabukuku

  4. Pingback: Book Kaleidoscope 2013: Top 5 Best Book Covers | Surgabukuku

  5. Pingback: Review: Lust for Life, by Irving Stone | Surgabukuku

What do you think?

