Home » Ini dan Itu » Artikel Buku » Two New (But Old) Jane Eyres

Two New (But Old) Jane Eyres

Sorry for the long absence! It’s been so difficult for me to compose new blog posts lately due to some things going on in my life—things I need to take care of, AND my laptop had broken down.

For the time being, let me show you my two new (but old) Jane Eyres. Needless to say that I absolutely love Jane Eyre, ever since I read it the first time in Indonesian translation (read the review in Bahasa here) and last year I managed to read it in the original language (read the short review in the bottom of this post).

So, after getting inspired by this blogger’s awesome collection of Jane Eyres, I decided to start collecting “collectible” editions of Jane Eyre. I don’t intend to gather as many editions as possible, though, I prefer to collect illustrated editions.

This is Jane Eyre: Portland House Illustrated, 1988 edition. This book is illustrated by Monro S. Orr.

Jpeg

I was rather disappointed with this edition; because it only has 8 illustrations from the 16 illustrations I saw on the Jane Eyre Illustrated website, and it’s an abriged version. However, it still makes a lovely addition in my collection.

And this is another gem I am lucky to have: a 1943 edition of Jane Eyre with wood engravings by Fritz Eichenberg. Have you ever heard of a movie titled Definitely, Maybe (2008)? Well, this edition also ‘starred’ in the movie, alongside Ryan Reynolds, Isla Fisher, Rachel Weisz and Elizabeth Banks. And also one of the main characters, April, had a collection of Jane Eyres, which was awesome. 🙂

Watch this clip if you’re curious.

Look how intricate and awesome the wood engravings are:

In the markets you can find an edition of Wuthering Heights in the similar style (also with wood engravings by Fritz Eichenberg, only creepier).

It feels awesome to hold in my hands a book that’s more than 40 years older than myself! 😉

What do you think?

