Home » Ini dan Itu » Book Tag: My Life in Books

Book Tag: My Life in Books

I was tagged by Casual Book Reader to do Book Tag: My Life in Books. Because today is not a busy day at work I decided to do it now! 😉

 1. Find a book for each of your initials

This one is easy; all I have to do is find two books which titles started with M.

mockingjayMockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Because the second part of Mockingjay is out recently in the cinemas. This book is honestly my least favourite from the trilogy. It left me feeling unsatisfied, in the end I wrote a review spilled with spoilers, hahaha.

miraculous journeyThe Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo

One of my favourite DiCamillo works, which was once again being talked about because it made an appearance in a popular Korean drama.

2. Count your age along your book shelf: What book is it?

stylesThe Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie is the 29th book in my ‘read’ shelf on Goodreads.

3. Pick a book set in your city/state/country

bumi-manusiaBumi Manusia by Pramoedya Ananta Toer. This Indonesian literary classic is set in the beginning of 20th century in Surabaya, the city in which I was born and still currently living in. I haven’t finished reading it, sadly. 😦

4. Pick a book that represents a destination you would like to travel to

the_secret_gardenI have always been amazed with England ever since I can remember. And The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett made me want not only to explore the cities in England, but also the countryside and the vast landscapes. Yorkshire, Oxford and Dorset look very lovely. I really hope I can go there next year! 🙂

5. Pick a book that is your favorite color

all the lightAll The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. If this book didn’t win the Pulitzer, maybe I’d still be tempted to buy it because of its cover.

Bonus:

narnia 1The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis. I’m currently reading this 😉

6. Which book do you have the fondest memory of?

TKAMTo Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. The book that made me fall back in love with reading.

7. Which book did you have the most difficulty reading?

1984Nineteen Eighty Four by George Orwell. I have only read it in Indonesian translation and I found it difficult. Brilliant, yes, but also difficult. I don’t know if I will ever read it in English…

8. Which book in your TBR pile will give you the biggest sense of achievement?

war and peaceWar and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. Oh yes, this 1350-page monster book will give me the biggest sense of achievement when I finished reading it (only God knows when). I also have another monster book: Les Miserables, but I have read it before in Indonesian translation. So War and Peace it is.

 ***

I’m tagging these bloggers to do the book tag:

Books to Share

Fanda’s Book Shelf

Membaca Buku

7 thoughts on “Book Tag: My Life in Books

  1. Saya entah kenapa masih belom kuat mbaca bukunya Pak Pramoedya Ananta Toer… 😥
    Padahal saya kagum sama sosok beliau. Tapi… entah ga kuat mbaca puisi2nya.

    Dan soal Leo Tolstoy, saya mbaca Anna Karenina versi inggrisnya aja belom kelar2 sejak 2 bulan lalu… 😦

What do you think?

