Home » Ini dan Itu » 20 Bookish Facts About Me

20 Bookish Facts About Me

  1. I am terribly picky when it comes to books.
  2. The two genres that I love the most are classics and historical fiction (obvious, if you paid attention to my blog’s menu).
  3. The book that made me fall back in love with reading is To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.
  4. Starting from last year I’ve been trying to balance my reading. Last year I read 65% fiction and 35% non fiction, and this year I plan to adjust that percentage to 60:40.
  5. Popular authors that I can’t say that I like: William Shakespeare, Jane Austen, Ernest Hemingway, Haruki Murakami.
  6. Speaking of Jane Austen, I don’t like her books but I love watching adaptations of them. I think I have watched adaptations for each of her major works: Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Emma, Mansfield Park, Persuasion and Northanger Abbey.
  7. I have a weak spot for World War II-themed books, and books about books (for example: The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon).
  8. I have 10 copies of Jane Eyre, most of them were bought during 2015.
  9. I have a “harta-karun” shelf on my Goodreads account, consists of books I love dearly, books with a history of acquisition, books I bought at a crazy bargain price. I would not lend any book from this shelf to anyone. 😀
  10. One of my most prized possessions is Jane Eyre with wood engravings by Fritz Eichenberg, published in 1943 by Random House. This edition appeared in the movie Definitely, Maybe (2008) and one major character in it even had a whole collection of Jane Eyres.
  11. One time I dreamt about Richard Parker. Yes, that was the name of the Bengal tiger in Life of Pi, but in my dream he was an annoying colleague, and I was playing golf with him. 😀
  12. I often read until I fall asleep, leaving the lights on until morning.
  13. I have a bad habit of reading multiple books at the same time, often resulting in half-read books that I would not pick up again for a long time.
  14. Back when I was a little girl, some of my friends got mad at me because I was too engrossed in a book that I paid no attention to them.
  15. Almost everyone in my household have their own personal library/book collection.
  16. Paperback is my favourite format of physical book.
  17. I have more than one hundred unread books.
  18. I just started my own bookstagram account @surgabukuku on late October 2015. I am not a professional photographer, I don’t even know how to take proper photographs, I simply love to share pics of books. 🙂 As of today (January 12, 2016) my account has 272 followers.
  19. I’d rather reread the books I love than trying out books that I’m not sure I would like. Life’s too short to read bad books ;).
  20. This year’s World Book Day is also my birthday. (Yes I’m preparing something special for the event! ;). )

20 bookish facts

You can also join #20BookishFactsAboutMeGA hosted by @niafajriyani (open to Indonesian residents only). See the full information here.

4 thoughts on “20 Bookish Facts About Me

  1. “I have a bad habit of reading multiple books at the same time, often resulting in half-read books that I would not pick up again for a long time.” That’s so me! Anyway, instead of loving classics and historical fiction (like you) i love Fantasy, Adventure, Dystopia/Utopia Fiction or smth like Hunger Games, Divergent, Maze Runner, Across the Universe etc..

    Nice to visit your blog here, 🙂

    -Some book lovers (sasya)

  2. Aku suka no. 15 dan 19..
    Asyik banget ya punya keluarga yg suka membaca semua…

    Di keluarga aku, cuma aku yg suka buku… Buku dianggap buang2 uang dan waktu.. Huhuhu…

    Bener bgt yg no.19..

    Love ur blog always mba mel..
    *Keep spirit and never give up on ur dreams*

    Gbu!

What do you think?

